Emily’s Work

When her beloved leaves her behind, Ferra Brickminder prays to the god of beauty, They Who Gaze at Flowers, to make her “beautiful… enriching… unique… inspiring! So that she will love me again!” The god turns pale-skinned Ferra to fragile porcelain, putting her on a crash course with the religious group the Ecclesiarchy, who wish to “assist the gods’ return.” Upon escaping the clergy, Ferra hires banished orc-like pirate captain Brigantine de la Girona to spirit her away. Flashbacks to various locales contextualize the protagonists’ motivations as book-smart Ferra attempts to win back her true love and regain her freedom without breaking, and bristly Brigantine seeks redemption and works to navigate emotions. The Pirate and the Porcelain Girl is a magical, sapphic graphic novel perfect for fans of The Prince and the Dressmaker and Our Flag Means Death. Out now from Simon and Schuster!

Mountain

Art by Bitmap Prager

When someone you love dies, you must climb to Mountain’s summit to spread their ashes, or their spirit will forever be trapped in the material plane. Nobody understands this better than a chatty mouse girl making pilgrimage to Mountain with the ashes of her late mother in toe. But she is an inexperienced climber, and Mountain is full of perils and pitfalls. When she meets a cool and confident climber, she convinces them to help her reach the summit. But the climber has their own reasons to scale Mountain, and their strength alone won’t get the two of them to the top. Mountain is a 40-page science fiction comic about grief, friendship, and understanding that even the strongest seeming people need a helping hand once in a while, Out now from Cow House Press!

It’s Your Funeral

Art by Ellen Kramer. Lettered by Matt Krotzer

Marnie Winters was going to turn her life around. Get out of the house! Make friends! No more “Miserable old Marnie!” Everything was going to plan, until she dies in a freak accident. Now, Marnie’s a ghost trapped on earth, and the only one who can help her is the overenthusiastic, alien social worker, Xel. But Xel has just the thing to help Marnie’s troubled spirit: an internship at the trans-dimensional Department for Spectral Affairs! It’s Your Funeral is a graphic novel about healing, learning to love yourself, and being ok with being not ok. Out NOW from Iron Circus Comics!

The Blue Valkyrie

Art by David Mitchell. Edited by Robin Bellaneau

Chloe is a queer, trans woman living in Cream City, a Midwestern city loosely based on Milwaukee. She goes to work, she loves her Girlfriend. She’s headstrong and never thinks things through. But mostly? She’s just getting by. That is, she WAS just getting by. But when she almost gets assaulted by a former friend, she suddenly discovers that she as SUPER POWERS! Specifically? Super strength and the ability to shield herself from danger. So what do you do when you’re a bull-headed millennial dealing with suddenly having super powers? You don a mask and become The Blue Valkyrie, of course. Why The Blue Valkyrie? Well, she just liked the name!

The Blue Valkyrie is a queer, trans superhero webcomic about identity, community, and what kind of hero the world really needs.

Last Gasp

Cover by Ciel Bahana.

An alien entity known as Xe appeared on earth and said xe would destroy the world in 30 days.There are 7 days left, and humanity’s last hope is Dr. Sebastian Schafer, professor of philosophy at Georgetown University. Time is running out, but as Sebastian and Xe get acquainted, they find themselves more interested in each other than the fate of the world…

Last Gasp is a 76-page queer novelette about finding out who you are, at the end of everything.

Howling Night

Art by Nelly Karlsson

Howling Night is a short, all-aged comic about werewolves and feelinng like you don’t belong, even though everyone says you do.